Nobody Said It Was Easy

 

Our sight word in class today was ‘my’. After reviewing the definition of ‘my’ and giving a few sentences as examples of how to use ‘my’, I asked my class to give me some examples.

‘I like to play with my friends.’

‘I like my toys.’

‘I like when to share my toys.’

And then the conversation took a nose dive into… FOOD! We are obsessed.

‘I like pizza.’ – this sentence makes an appearance at least once a class.

‘I like cake.’

‘I like cookies.’

Ok class, lets bring it back – sentences that have ‘my’ in them.

‘Miss Ana, you are my.’

My what? My teacher? 

No. Mine.

Ok. I am your teacher. New student please?

‘I’m going to marry Katie.*’

Katie: ‘No, you’re not.’

Husband-to-be: ‘Yes I am. You are my wife.’

Cue foot stomping and face covering from Wife-to-be while Mr. Husband-to-be smiles proudly.

Husband-to-be: ‘I heard a story about a man who had seven wives.’

Wife-to-be: ‘NO!!! Only one wife for you mister.’

Student tired of this conversation: ‘I LIKE MY PIZZA.’

I’m going to count this as a win.

Conversationally fluent we are not.

Just another day in the life.

*Name changed.

Have you seen this video?

One thought on “Nobody Said It Was Easy

  1. Pingback: For When You Drift Off | The Middleton Experience

Leave a comment